2018 Migu Run Skyrunner® World Series – it just gets better and better - Migu Run Skyrunner® World Series

sponsor-top-banner migurun scott Compress sport

Tibetan flags at the highest point at Yading Skyrun. ©iancorless.com / MRSWS

The 2018 Migu Run Skyrunner® World Series, the hub where the world’s top athletes converge year after year, has a number of important novelties lined-up.

The new season features 18 races in 12 countries across three continents. It kicks off on April 30 with the first and highest race on the circuit in Yading, China.

The big novelty is the 52-week ranking which includes the Migu Run Skyrunner® World Series and the Skyrunner® National Series results. Every Tuesday at midday, it will be possible to track who is on top of the ranking.

Working towards the 2019 season single ranking, in 2018 just two categories will be included, the Sky Classic and the Sky Extra. The focus will be on the Overall Ranking where a maximum of the best two results in each category will be counted.

Adrien Michaud (Scott) at SkyRace Comapedrosa, one of the bonus races. ©iancorless.com / MRSWS

Five races will award an extra 50% bonus points. They are: Livigno SkyMarathon, Ultra SkyMarathon Madeira, SkyRace Comapedrosa, Kima Trophy and Limone Extreme. See full calendar

From the heights of the Sichuan mountains to beyond the Arctic Circle, island hopping in the Atlantic Ocean, the wild Montana mountains and those in the Pyrenees and Alps where skyrunning was born, the 2018 calendar is a mix of iconic legends from the past and the making of those in the future.

290 top athletes from 37 countries and five continents have already confirmed their participation in the 2018 Migu Run Skyrunner® World Series. Among the confirmed athletes are superstars: Kilian Jornet, Emelie Forsberg, Luis Alberto Hernando, Marco de Gasperi, Ragna Debats, Jonathan Albon, Sheila Avilès, Jan Margarit, Hillary Gerardi, Mira Rai….

Top skyrunner Kilian Jornet comments, “The MRSWS are really exciting this year! I think the unification of the circuits and key races will make the Series even more competitive. I will be really excited to be part of that and come back to some of the most iconic races of this sport!”

Kilian Jornet, multiple champion, will be competing also in 2018. ©iancorless.com / MRSWS

To conclude the year on a high note, the End of Season Bonus Pool has been increased to € 66,000 (euros) which will be distributed to the top three men and women across the three categories: Sky Classic, Sky Extra and Overall.

Join us on April 30 with the first race of the season in China – the Yading SkyRun valid for the Sky Classic ranking where, among the top runners, will be: Americans, Hillary Gerardi, Andy Wacker and Cody Lind; Spaniards Sheila Avilés, Eduard Hernandez, Nuria Domínguez: Andorrans Oscar and Marc Casal Mir and Sintu Vives; Britons Finlay Wild and Holly Page; Robert Krupicka from the Czech Republic; Ruth Croft and Ryan Carr from New Zealand. Swedish twins Sanna and Lina El Kott Helander will embark on their first skyrunning adventure which will take them to the dizzy heights of 4,664m altitude among the spectacular Buddhist temples and prayer flags lining the course.

Get a taste of the 2018 season with this teaser