The Skyrunner® World Series crosses the Atlantic Ocean to Canada for the ferocious Minotaur Skyrace this Saturday, 24th of June.

The skyrunning world is going crazy for this weekend’s Minotaur Skyrace and it’s no wonder why. As far as skyrunning locations go, the rough and wild Canadian Rockies are up there with the best.

The fifth race of the 2023 Skyrunner® World Series is a tough and technical 32-kilometre course with 2,817 metres of elevation gain that goes through the Livingstone Range, described by Andrew Fairhurst, the race organiser as:

“Dancing on a line between the prairies and the rockies – true skyrunning on knife-like, narrow and technical ridges.”

Starting in the community of Blairmore, Crowsnest Pass, Alberta, the route follows Minotaur Ridge up to the summit of Bluff Mountain along open, steep rocky ridges. After that, the race climbs to the highest point of the course at 2,310 metres, through true Canadian Wilderness, where the Prairies meet the Rockies. After this it’s a lot of technical ridge running, remote alpine valley crossings and a rough scree descent back to the finish line in Blairmore.

Stepping up to the challenge are a host of world-class athletes and tough locals, ready to test themselves on the extreme terrain of Minotaur Skyrace. 

In the women’s field, Emma Cook-Clarke of Canada (team Arc’teryx) will return to defend her title. She will be up against fellow Canadian and the 2022 overall ranking winner Lindsay WebsterKarina Carsolio of Mexico (team Black Diamond), the 2022 Monterosa Sky Marathon winner, is another name to watch out for, as well as Marcela Vasionva of the Czech Republic and Rea Kolbl of the USA (team Dynafit). 

In the men’s field, the 2022 overall ranking champion, Nico Molina of Spain (team La Sportiva) will, no doubt, have the target on his back. To challenge him will be Peter Fano of Slovakia (team Scarpa), Sage Canaday of the USA (team Hoka), Canadians Ryan Atkins and Adam Campbell (team Arc’teryx), Johnny Luna-Lima of the USA (team Salomon USA) and Eduard Hernandez of Spain (team Brooks Running).

The race kicks off this Saturday at 07:00 am (local time).

Points shall be awarded to the top 20 male and females of the race and prize money awarded to the top 10.  

The top 10 will also qualify for the 2023 SkyMasters, the final race of the season. This is only as long as they complete a further 2 races of the season and the SkyMasters.

Overall ranking
SkyMasters qualification


Last Articles

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

Join our Mailing list!

Get all latest news, exclusive deals and much more.