This Friday, the world’s leading skyrunners take to the skies above Zermatt for the mighty Matterhorn Ultraks « EXTREME », the ninth race of the 2023 Skyrunner® World Series.

Since its 2019 debut, the Matterhorn Ultraks « EXTREME », a beautiful yet challenging event, has become a magnet for the most technically skilled skyrunners of the circuit.

The 25 km course with 2,876 m of elevation gain begins in the centre of Zermatt, at the foot of the iconic Matterhorn. The race features the circuit’s most notorious descent, an extremely steep couloir with loose scree, as well as a glacier crossing where microspikes are compulsory in certain conditions, and reaches a highest point of 3,406 meters.

In the running to be crowned the king and queen of the « EXTREME » are a host of leading skyrunners from around the world.

In the men’s field, Zermatt local and 2021 runner up, Martin Anthamatten (team Adidas Terrex) will try his hand at taking home the title. This will be the fourth attempt for Anthamatten who will once again go head-to-head with the 2019 champion Daniel Antonioli of Italy (team Scarpa) and two-time winner (2020 and 2021), William Boffeli, also of Italy (team Crazy / Hoka). The rest of the world-class elite men’s field includes Roberto Delorenzi of Switzerland (team Brooks); Spain’s Zaid Ait Malek, Manuel Merillas (team Scarpa / Land Trail), and the 2022 SWS overall winner Nico Molina (team La Sportiva); Frédéric Tranchand of France (team Scott Running); Luka Kovacic of Slovenia (team Red Bull / Dynafit); Sebastien Poesy of France (team Brooks); and Aitor Zunzunegi of the Basque Country.

Photo: Alexis Berg

In the women’s field, the USA’s Hillary Gerardi (team Black Diamond / Scarpa) returns to see if she can finally take home the Matterhorn Ultraks « EXTREME » winner’s bib after placing second in three previous editions. Gerardi will face tough competition from the current overall ranking female leader Iris Pessey of France (team Scott Running); the 2020 winner Marcela Vasinova of the Czech Republic; Karina Carsolio of Mexico (team Black Diamond); Kalie McCrystal of Canada; Ainara Urrutia of the Basque Country; and Amélie Bertschy of Switzerland (team ON Running).

The race starts this Friday, 25th of August at 08:00 am local time.

Prize money shall be awarded equally to the top 10 males and females. 

The top 10 will also qualify for the 2023 SkyMasters, the final race of the season. This is only as long as they complete a further 2 races of the season and the SkyMasters. More information on the rules can be found on the Skyrunner® World Series website. 

Overall ranking


SkyMasters qualification

Race website 

Full list of participants


Last Articles

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

Join our Mailing list!

Get all latest news, exclusive deals and much more.