Matterhorn Ultraks – a step closer to the Sky - Skyrunner® World Series

sponsor-top-banner MERREL.COM

Martin Anthamatten, winner for the second time at Matterhorn Ultraks. ©David Carrier

Switzerland’s own Martin Anthamatten, race ambassador and co-designer of the Matterhorn Ultraks <<SKY>> took the win for the second time in today’s Migu Run Skyrunner® World Series race in Zermatt, Switzerland. Spaniard Virginia Perez Mesonero won her first race on the circuit.

The eighth round of the ten-race Sky Classic category saw 767 runners from 36 countries take part in the sixth edition of this spectacular race. With 49 km and 3,600m vertical climb, the course summits at the at 3,130m Gornergrat station offering views stretching across the Monte Rosa massif and 29 mountains above 4,000m including the ever-present Matterhorn from which the race takes its name.

The spectacular Matterhorn Ultraks “SKY” course. ©David Carrier

Leading from start to finish, Anthamatten, a local and mountain guide, took his second win after victory here in 2015.

“It’s the first time someone wins this race twice so obviously I’m super happy to win here a second time at home. The weather was great although we lost some energy at the Gornergrat with the cold and the altitude. At the end it was a tough battle to win.” Anthamatten closed in 5h00’24”, leaving the standing record set in 2017 by Italian Marco De Gasperi of 4h42’31” intact.

Second man was Marc Casal Mir from Andorra just one minute behind. “I stayed with Martin until Sunegga but on the way up to Gornergrat I realized that it was impossible to stay with him. This is his place. I’m very happy with this second position. I spent time studying the second part of the course with my trainer and compared to last year I was eight minutes faster on this section. It shows that the training worked well!”

Another podium for Marc Casal Mir this year at Matterhorn Ultraks “SKY”. ©David Carrier

Another minute later, Spaniard Genis Zapater crossed the line. “I think I was tenth on top of Gornergrat and I was feeling very good so why not push more and more! It was a good race for me although prefer them more technical. With the landscape and the organisation, it was awesome,” he commented.

The women’s podium was all-Spanish with Virginia Perez closing first in 5h56’06”. “It was an incredible race, I loved it from the beginning. I live by the sea so I’m not used to this kind of landscape. At beginning I was second but then saw Laia [Andreu] in front of me. I caught her before the first summit and was able to manage my first position all the way. I am more used to VKs and this is my first skyrunning season. So far, I love it!” she said

Virginia Perez pushing toward victory. ©David Carrier

Laia Andreu, an excellent second in 6h01’15”, commented, “It’s the third time I came here and, coming from the flat, when you are in front of the Matterhorn, it’s wonderfulWhen I race in the mountains, it’s hard so I’m happy with this second place.”

Third lady was Mujika Mayi, in 6h22’03”. “I started slow to measure my power and after some kilometres was able to put in more energy. At the end, I simply gave it all I had left. I didn’t expect to finish that well in the ranking. I loved the race, in particular on top of the Gornergrat!”

Last year’s record set by Dutch woman Ragna Debats still stands at 5h52’05”.

Virginia Perez Mesonero and Martin Anthamatten, Matterhorn Ultraks “SKY”; winners. ©Sportograph

With just two more races to go in the Sky Classic category, Marc Casal Mir once again leads the rankings, while race winner Anthamatter climbs to 11th. Virginia Perez and Laia Andreu are now seventh and eighth respectively.
The top women’s positions are unaffected, led by Sweden’s Lina El Kott. Five of  the seasons’ best results are counted for the final ranking.

The Overall rankings remain unchanged.

Next stop on the Migu Run Skyrunner® World Series heads for the rugged Montana mountains on September 1 with The Rut 28K, second last race in the Sky Classic category.

Matterhorn Ultraks <<SKY>> results

  1. Martin Anthamatten (SUI) – 5h00’24”
    2. Marc Casal Mir (AND) – 5h01’24”
    3. Genis Zapater (ESP) – 5h02’22”
    4. Ander Iñarra (ESP) – 5h06’12”
    5. Johannes Klein (GER) – 5h06’18”


  1. Virginia Perez  (ESP) 5h56’06”
    2. Laia Andreu (ESP) – 6h01’15”
    3. Mujika Mayi (ESP) – 6h22’03”
    4. Ingrid Mutter (ROU) – 6h28’15”
    5. Nahia Quincoces (ESP) – 6h31’46”

Race results

Race details


Follow us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram for the latest updates