The final race of the Skyrunner® World Series, before the SkyMasters, was held today in Lousã, Portugal. Ikram Rharsalla of Spain (team Millet) and Shoma Otagiri of Japan (team Merrell Japan) gave it their all to secure victories, all-important overall ranking points and the last qualification places for the final race of the season.

In the men’s race of Louzanskyrace, Otagiri passed Danillo Brambilla of Italy early on in the race and managed to create a big enough gap to secure his lead until the finish line. The Japanese Skyrunner finished with a winning time of  2h56’14” – the only athlete of the day to go below three hours. Brambilla followed five minutes later in second place and Manuel Bayo of Spain closed the men’s podium in 3h09’46”.

Otagiri comments: “It was a tough race. The climbs were hard and the descents were technical, so there was no time to rest. I was overjoyed when I saw the finish line on the final straight, knowing I as in first position. I would like to thank everyone involved in the organisation and all the athletes for a great race.”

In the female race, Ikram Rharsalla stormed to victory, securing herself a top-10 position going into the final. After leading from the beginning, Rharsalla crossed the finish line with a winning time of 3h31’35”, a whopping 30 minutes ahead of Ainara Urrutia in second place and 35 minutes ahead of Lisa Risch in third place.

Rharsalla comments: “The race was leg-breaking, with steep climbs and descents and from the beginning I went all out. I enjoyed the terrain and many parts reminded me of my home training grounds in Granada. The warm temperatures today played to my advantage and I was able to keep the lead for the whole race. Winning here as secured me good points and given me great confidence for Limone.”

The top 20 of the Louzanskyrace have gained points towards the overall ranking and the top 10 have qualified for the SkyMasters, as long as they have completed three race of the 2023 circuit.

All eyes are now on the final race of the season, Limone Xtreme SkyMasters on the 28th of October 2023 where the winners of the overall season ranking will be crowned.

Full results

Top 5 Men:

1. Shoma Otagiri (JPN), Team Merrell Japan – 2h56’14”

2. Danilo Brambilla (ITA), – 3h01’21”

3. Manuel Bayo (ESP), Team CD. Olimpo Granada – 3h09’46”

4. Tomas Navarro (ESP), Team Lurbel People Sapiens – 3h13’07”

5. Nuno Silva (POR), Gafanhori – 3h14’31”

Top 5 Women:

1. Ikram Rharsalla (ESP), Team Millet – 3h31’35”

2. Ainara Urrutia (ESP), Team Basque Selection– 4h01’48”

3. Lisa Risch (GER), Team XC-Run– 4h06’22”

4. Alice Lopes (POR), Team ADCF – 4h10’58”

5. Bouvier Axelle (FRA), Team Millet – 4h16’52”

Photo credits: Twentyfour Media


Last Articles

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

Join our Mailing list!

Get all latest news, exclusive deals and much more.